National Advisory Board

The National Advisory Board members are experts in their respective fields. Utilizing their knowledge, insight, and experience, they provide the Eppley Center with respected information to provide guidance and feedback regarding the Institute's future.

The primary purpose of the NAB is to give the Eppley Center Executive Director and staff advice about strategic directions with respect to how the Eppley Center can best advance its mission, services, and programs into "best practices" that are viable and sustainable. Find our National Advisory Board members below.

Jane H. Adams is the Executive Director of the American Academy for Park & Recreation Administration.

Janet Bartnik is the deputy director with Prince William County' s Department of Parks, Recreation, and Tourism in northern Viriginia.

Dr. Robert L. Fischman is the George P. Smith, II Distinguished Professor of Law at the Indiana University Maurer School of Law.

Michael Klitzing is director of Carmel Clay Parks & Recreation in Indiana.

Dr. Greg Lindsey joined the Humphrey School of Public Affairs in 2008 as associate dean, served as interim dean in 2011, and served as executive associate dean until September 2012

Michael McCarty is executive director of Glenview Park District in Glenview, Illinois, covering 861 acres and including 12 major facilities, 27 parks, 13 fieldhouses and 12.6 miles of walking trails.

Dr. Joel Meier is professor emeritus and former chair of the Department of Recreation, Park and Tourism Studies at Indiana University.

Dr. Vicky Meretsky is a professor of environmental sciences at the Paul H. O'Neill School of Public and Environmental Affairs.

Dr. Tony Mobley is the Executive Director of the National Recreation Foundation.

Dr. Rasul Mowatt is professor and head of the Department of Parks, Recreation and Tourism Management at NC State's College of Natural Resources.

Dr. Derek Nord is an associate professor in Curriculum and Instruction, Special Education program.

Dr. Chris Nunes, CPRE is the Chief Operating Officer for The Woodlands Township, in The Woodlands, Texas.

Ronald A. Olson has served as Chief of the Michigan Parks and Recreation Division, Michigan Department of Natural Resources, since 2005 where he directs and oversees the state park system that consists of 103 diverse state parks and recreation areas, 138 state forest campgrounds, 300,000 acres of land, and hosts 35 million visitations annually, including 5 million at Belle Isle Park.

Dr. Jennifer Piatt is an associate professor at Indiana University's School of Public Health in the department of Health & Wellness Design.

James M. Ridenour served as director of the Indiana Department of Natural Resources for eight years before becoming NPS director from April 1989 through January 1993.

Stephen A. Wolter, executive director of the Eppley Institute for Parks and Public Lands at Indiana University, has extensive experience as a leader, manager, teacher, and executive in the park, recreation, public lands fields.

Dr. James D. Worsley was appointed Deputy County Administrator for Human Services in October 2020.

Dr. Brett Wright is a professor and former Dean of Clemson University's College of Behavioral, Social and Health Sciences. Prior to being dean, he was the chairman of the Department of Parks, Recreation and Tourism Management.

Mark Young has worked as an administrator in the field of parks, recreation and natural resources for more than 40 years, serving the cities of Indianapolis and Bloomington, Indiana and Columbus, Ohio